leek
Strangercrombie Donor 2010
SLOG FAN
Ballardia
report this user

Bio

Blah-dee-blah blah blah.

Sep 4, 2010 leek reviewed Miyi the Great Australian Bite.
Remove! remove!
Jun 13, 2010 leek reviewed Thomas Street Bistro.
I don't know how this place used to be (apparently good?), but I went for the first time last night. Seated at a table squished into the tiny inside, we got water and eventually a wine list when we asked for it. We were delivered some just-okay soup with no explanations (I had to ask what kind it was) and then some standard from-a-box crackers with some also just-okay artichoke spread. All this time, no menus, no explanation that the entrees all come with soup and appetizer, and no recognition from any of the waitstaff that this was strange in any way. We didn't get menus until we eventually asked the owner after having been there for around a half-hour. Another table was complaining about the same abysmal lack of service and left; we eventually did too. Completely offputting and uncomfortable.
Jun 13, 2010 leek reviewed Thomas Street Bistro.
I don't know how this place used to be (apparently good?), but I went for the first time last night. Seated at a table squished into the tiny inside, we got water and eventually a wine list when we asked for it. We were delivered some just-okay soup with no explanations (I had to ask what kind it was) and then some standard from-a-box crackers with some also just-okay artichoke spread. All this time, no menus, no explanation that the entrees all come with soup and appetizer, and no recognition from any of the waitstaff that this was strange in any way. We didn't get menus until we eventually asked the owner after having been there for around a half-hour. Another table was complaining about the same abysmal lack of service and left; we eventually did too. Completely offputting and uncomfortable.
Mar 8, 2010 leek reviewed See Sound Lounge.
Unattractive place filled with the kind of people who seem like they should be appearing in MTV reality series, not living in nice, low-key Seattle. Who ARE these women and why are they wearing those things? Scary shit, man. Scary shit.
Feb 3, 2010 leek reviewed Shiku Sushi.
Of all the sushi restaurants in Ballard proper, I think this one is the best. Granted they have a lot of tempura'd rolls and such, but the tempura veggie roll is AWESOME and the fish there has always tasted fresh and yummy.
Oct 26, 2009 leek reviewed Flying Squirrel Pizza.
A friend of a friend owns this, so we trekked out to Columbia City. Damn this was a fine pizza! Crust, sauce and toppings were all excellent. If it weren't, like, twenty hundred miles from Ballard, I'd probably go there too often for my health.
Sep 24, 2009 leek reviewed Knee High Stocking Co..
Granted, I was already in a bad mood when I went here. But after struggling (due to the lack of signage) to find the damn place to meet some friends, I was irritated to be greeted at the door by the hostess poking her head out to inquire whether I was here with someone. My friends later argued that perhaps she was just trying to figure out where I should be seated (as there is "no standing" permitted therein) but it was offputting nonetheless. Was I not important enough to be allowed inside unless I had a more well-connected companion?

After getting in, I wandered toward the bar trying to find my friends, who were seated in a small nook of a side room. After I glanced into the door that was actually the restroom, the bartender officiously inquired whether I knew where I was going. Strike two.

Strike three was provided by the group of young chaps who neglected to scoot their chairs aside to provide access to said small nook of a side room, even though my ample-hipped companion had to struggle past them each time.

Like I said, I wasn't in the best mood to begin with, but this place pissed me right off. I guess I don't enjoy feeling like a social climber who should be kicked back down into the peasantry. Boo.
More...
Sep 9, 2009 leek reviewed Cafe Presse.
When this place first opened I wanted to go there all the time. But I guess I'm just getting a little bored with it. Every time I've been in the last six months or so, the fish of the day has been rockfish--and it just hasn't tasted that impressive when I've ordered it. The salad with hazelnut vinaigrette is still great, but there aren't enough other fish or veggie options on the menu to really enthrall.