Jun 1, 2014 spoons commented on First Draft.
@2 & @6 I think it's also good to have as soft a water supply as possible (at least for pilsners). I haven't checked what our water is like but if you don't have incredibly soft water it can keep you from ever being able to achieve the clean flavor of a pilsner because the mineral content leads to off flavors.
Apr 17, 2014 spoons commented on Uber, Lyft, and Sidecar File Referendum, Suspend City's Rideshare Ordinance.
@5 Agreed. The council passed something more sympathetic to the taxi companies than the voters would have agreed to, and now the ride-share companies have something more favorable to themselves than voters would have gone for. Hopefully this will end with something that simply requires insurance and necessary safety oversight, and keeps caps on driver numbers off the table.
Mar 1, 2014 spoons commented on Step by Step, Russia Is Invading Ukraine.
@5 Even though I see that as a best case scenario, there isn't a great precedent in Europe for appeasing strongmen with territorial concessions.
Feb 18, 2014 spoons commented on Chatterbox: The Internet Is Talking About Jeopardy! and Racism.
I was a little worried what I would see clicking the jeopardy photo. The actual picture managed to be less offensive, but far more sad and depressing than I expected.
Jan 5, 2014 spoons commented on I Regret the New Pope.
Every time I hear quotes from him I try to remind myself that:
A) I'm an Atheist, so I should really care about what any religious leader say
B) I was raised Lutheran so I REALLY shouldn't care what the Pope says
C) There are all the problems with the churches stances on reproductive rights

...but dang it I can't help but like this guy.
Nov 20, 2013 spoons commented on McDonald's Urges Employees to Sell Their Possessions to Get Out of Holiday Debt.
@13 The radio show Marketplace did a little piece on that and correctly called it a "dog ate my homework" type excuse.
Oct 21, 2013 spoons commented on It's Official: State Proposes Gutting Medical Cannabis Law.
Are these people appointed by the governor outright or do they need legislative approval? I tried looking around their website for a bit couldn't find any explanation of how their appointment/removal process works.
Sep 19, 2013 spoons commented on What Do You Think of Apple's New IOS 7?.
It really screwed with the podcasts. I'm always confused when they take something that is working great and decide to "fix" it, or reduce the functionality of the old version for no apparent reason.
Sep 5, 2013 spoons commented on Creators Quit Comic Book When DC Comics Refuses to Publish a Gay Wedding.
I just found this site which lists all the problems with editorial interference at DC over the last few years (especially under Bob Harras). As you can see from the list this is simply one of a lot of bad decisions over the last few years.

Don't mistake stupidity for malice.

Sep 5, 2013 spoons commented on Creators Quit Comic Book When DC Comics Refuses to Publish a Gay Wedding.
@19 Two things:

1) I can totally understand wanting to dump marriages for characters. But...

2) Batwoman is a boutique character and isn't going to really go mainstream DCU anytime soon. Editorial knows that. The book is more in the vein of Moore's Swamp Thing and Morrison's Animal Man.

Their bad decision making is rooted in stupidity, ignorance, and lack of foresight. That's why I've kept clear of all their books except for Wonder Woman.

Sidenote: I understand people being unhappy with what they did with Wonder Woman, but it is really awesome now.