Group Therapy

Recommended

Frye Art Museum First Hill
Sept 14, 2018–Jan 6, 2019, Tuesdays–Sundays

Free

Recommended by Katie Kurtz

Group Therapy features a roster of international artists addressing themes of healing and self-care through a range of media. With its proximity to Harborview Medical Center (the region’s largest trauma care hospital) and several other hospitals, the museum will also function as a community “free clinic” with immersive installations and participatory projects. By including racism, sexism, and political tribalism as social pathologies, the show reframes what it means to be ill in the 21st century and offers community building as one possible curative. Artists include Wynne Greenwood, Maryam Jafri, Joachim Koester, Liz Magic Laser, Leigh Ledare, Marcos Lutyens, Cindy Mochizuki, Shana Moulton, Pedro Reyes, Ann Leda Shapiro, Kandis Williams, and Lauryn Youden. 

REGULARLY OCCURRING EXHIBITION PROGRAMS Pedro Reyes’s The Museum of Hypothetical Lifetimes Facilitated Activations Tuesdays 2–5 pm Thursdays 4–7 pm Saturdays / Sundays 12–3 pm 30 minute first-come-first-served one-on-one sessions Screening Schedule for Leigh Ledare’s The Task (118 min., Frye Auditorium) Tuesdays / Wednesdays / Fridays 2–4 pm Thursdays 4–6 pm Saturdays / Sundays 11:15 am–1:15 pm Due to holiday closures or additional Museum programming, The Task will not screen on the following dates: Wednesday, September 19, 2018 Wednesday, October 3, 2018 Sunday, October 7, 2018 Saturday, October 13, 2018 Sunday, October 21, 2018 Saturday, November 3, 2018 Thursday, November 22, 2018 Saturday, December 8, 2018 Sunday, December 16, 2018 Tuesday, December 25, 2018 Tuesday, January 1, 2019 Saturday, January 5, 2019

Stay in the know! Download the free Stranger Things To Do mobile app (available for iOS and Android), or subscribe to our newsletter.

Frye Art Museum

704 Terry Ave, Seattle, WA 98104
206-622-9250
Hours: Tues-Sun
http://www.fryemuseum.org/

Venue Hours
  • Tues-Sun
Event Times
  • Sept 14, 2018–Jan 6, 2019, Tuesdays–Sundays
Category