THURSDAY 2/14


* ANTHONY BOURDAIN

Author/chef Bourdain has traveled around the world and, like Lisa Stansfield, has not found his baby--which, in his case, is the ultimate meal. Bourdain's search for perfection is detailed in his new book, A Cook's Tour: In Search of the Perfect Meal. University Bookstore, 4326 University Way NE, 634-3400, 7 pm, free.


CINDY ENGEL

Engel talks about her new book Wild Health: How Animals Keep Themselves Well and What We Can Learn from Them. Kane Hall, Walker-Ames Room, UW campus, 7 pm; tickets available at University Bookstore, 634-3400.


* DELORES TARZAN AMENT

Seattle art critic Ament talks about Morris Graves, Mark Tobey, Helmi Juvonen, Kenneth Callahan, and other "mystic" painters and artists profiled in her newly published Iridescent Light: The Emergence of Northwest Art. Elliott Bay Book Company, 101 S Main, 624-6600, 7:30 pm, free.


FRIDAY 2/15


JUDITH HALBERSTAM

Judith Halberstam, who is Professor of Literature at the University of California San Diego, lectures about lesbian subcultures. Communications Building, room 226, UW campus, 543-3920, 3:30 pm, free.


* SARAH WATERS

Author of the popular lesbian novel Tipping the Velvet, Sarah Waters, reads Fingersmith, which, like Tipping the Velvet, is set in Victorian London. Bailey/Coy Books, 414 Broadway E, 323-8842, 7 pm, free.


CHITRA BANERJEE DIVAKARUNI

Poet and fiction writer Divakaruni will read from her epic book The Vine of Desire. Elliott Bay Book Company, 624-6600, 7:30 pm, free.


MARGOT ADLER

Part of the "Women of Wisdom" conference, NPR correspondent Alder offers a feminist perspective on the '60s. Seattle Unity Church, 200 Eighth Ave, 782-3363, 7:30 pm, $15/$18.


SATURDAY 2/16


PAMELA McCLUSKY

Seattle Art Museum's curator of the African and Oceanic Art exhibit will talk about the work currently on display. Elliott Bay Book Company, 624-6600, 2 pm, free.


JASON FLORES-WILLIAMS

Flores-Williams reads from his novel The Last Stand of Mr. America. "Jason Flores-Williams," says The San Francisco Examiner, "is an all-American outlaw and edgewalker in the tradition of Jack Kerouac, Charles Bukowski, and Biggie Smalls." I always thought Biggie Smalls was more in the tradition of Mark Twain. Elliott Bay Book Company, 624-6600, 7:30 pm, free.


SUNDAY 2/17


MARTY BECKER, D.V.M.

Becker, a resident vet of ABC's Good Morning America, talks about his book The Healing Power of Pets: Harnessing the Amazing Ability of Pets to Make and Keep People Healthy. If you enjoyed Engel's Wild Health: How Animals Keep Themselves Well and What We Can Learn from Them, then you are bound to enjoy Becker's current book. University Bookstore, 634-3400, 2 pm, free tickets required.


MONDAY 2/18


JEAN THOMPSON

Thompson reads from and signs Wild Blue Yonder. University Bookstore, 634-3400, 7 pm, free.


TUESDAY 2/19


NEGA MEZLEKIA

See Stranger Suggests. Elliott Bay Book Company, 624-6600, 7:30 pm, free.


* PAVEL VINOGRADOV and DR. ALEXANDER MARTYNOV Cosmonaut Pavel Vinogradov and Dr. Alexander Martynov, former director of ballistics for the Russian Mission Control Centre, will speak about their space experiences. Electrical Engineering Building, room 105, UW campus, 543-0214, 7 pm, free.


WEDNESDAY 2/20


ROBERT SADAMU SHUMABUKURO

As a part of Mangels Lectures, Shumabukuro will speak on the origins of the campaign for reparations, and its importance in healing the injustice of the Japanese internment camps. Kane Hall, room 130, UW campus, 6 pm, free tickets available from University Bookstore, 634-3400.

Support The Stranger

Sponsored