Mayor McGinn announced today the names of the civilian oversight committee he created by executive order in October as an effort to address the snowballing criticism of the Seattle Police Department. The aim of the council is to work on reform measures, establish police priorities, and engage the community, according to a mayor's office press release.

The 15 members of the commission are: Claudia D'Allegri, Sea Mar Community Health Centers vice president of Behavioral Health; Lisa Daugaard, deputy director of the Defender Association; Kate Joncas, president and CEO of the Downtown Seattle Association; Bill Hobson, executive director of the Downtown Emergency Services Center; Jay Hollingsworth, John T. Williams Organizing Committee; Joseph Kessler, Seattle Police Department captain; Diane Narasaki, executive director of the Asian Counseling & Referral Service; John Page, Law Enforcement Assisted Diversion and program coordinator at the Defender Association’s Racial Disparity Project; Tina Podlodowski, former Seattle City Councilmember; Marcel Purnell, Youth Undoing Institutional Racism; Jennifer Shaw, deputy director of the ACLU of Washington; Kevin Stuckey, officer of the Seattle Police Department; Kip Tokuda, former state representative for the 37th Legislative District; Rev. Harriet Walden, co-founder of Mothers for Police Accountability; Rev. Aaron Williams, senior pastor at Mount Zion Baptist Church.

Additionally, Lisa Daugaard and Diane Narasaki will co-chair the council.