Although President-elect Donald Trump has yet to officially take office—thank goodness—he's already making scary moves such as blocking press access and making some unnerving cabinet appointments, including a man with ties to white nationalists, and another with a history of making racist comments.

Courtesy of Suzan DelBene's office
One of his administration's scariest suggestions: creating a national registry for Muslims, based on a "precedent" of World War II's Japanese internment camps.

Horrified? So was Congresswoman Suzan DelBene, who represents Washington state's first congressional district.

This afternoon, DelBene, who was recently reelected, introduced the No Religious Registry Act, a bill which would ban the creation of any kind of registry based on religion.

Here are the details from a press release announcing the proposal:

[The] bill would prohibit the Attorney General, Secretary of Homeland Security and any United States government official from establishing or utilizing a registry for the purposes of classifying individuals on the basis of religious affiliation. The legislation would cover U.S. nationals, U.S. visa applicants and aliens lawfully present in the United States.

“President-elect Donald Trump is breaking his promise to be a President for all Americans by supporting the creation of a Muslim registry. This kind of xenophobic and hateful rhetoric has no place in our government,” DelBene said in a statement. “We cannot allow our country to disregard the civil liberties enshrined in the Constitution. My bill would prohibit the administration from violating the constitutional rights of Americans because everyone should be treated equally under our laws.”

The bill's original sponsors currently include Representatives John Conyers, John Lewis, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Doris Matsui, Steve Cohen, Keith Ellison, Andre Carson and Judy Chu. When reached for comment, a representative from Congressman Adam Smith’s (WA-09) office said Smith planned to sign onto the bill. A representative from Rep. DelBene's office said that Reps. Rick Larsen (WA-02), Adam Smith (WA-09), and Denny Heck (WA-10) requested to be added to the bill.

"Once the House is back in session we’ll ask that they be added and hopefully reflects that in following days," they said.

Washingtonians: Contact your elected officials to get them to support Rep. DelBene's bill! Here's how to reach them:

Congressional District 2: Rep. Rick Larsen
San Juan and Island Counties, Mountlake Terrace, and Bellingham
(202) 225-2605

Congressional District 3: Jaime Herrera Beutler
Lewis County, Klickitat County, Skamania
(202) 225-3536

Congressional District 4: Dan Newhouse
Okanogan County, Yakima County, Grant County
(202) 225-5816

Congressional District 5: Cathy McMorris Rodgers
Stevens County, Lincoln County, Ferry County
(202) 225-2006

Congressional District 6: Derek Kilmer
Clallam County, Grays Harbor County
(202) 225-5916

Congressional District 7: Jim McDermott
Vashon, Edmonds, Shoreline, Burien
(202) 225-3106

Congressional District 8: David Reichert
Chelan County, Kittitas County
(202) 225-7761

Congressional District 9: Adam Smith
Bellevue, Renton, Federal Way, SeaTac
(202) 225-8901

Congressional District 10: Denny Heck
Olympia, Lakewood, and parts of Tacoma

This post has been updated.